BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Need some help here. The GA MOA recently held their rally in North GA and I went up for a few hours on Saturday to check it out. It was held in a State camp ground so tenting was standard for the weekenders. What I'm looking for here is why go to a rally like this and what is the draw to attend. I'm fairly new to riding (3+ yrs) but lived in Daytona Beach for 10 years so I fully understand that end of a bike fest. The other side is that I don't camp, no desire to. Staying at the Ironhorse Lodge is roughing it to me. :)

I'm not looking to criticize, just want to understand. So, for those that attended this rally or others like it, why. I'm sure that I can't be the only one wondering.

·
Old Slow Guy in A Fast Car
8,601 Posts
Tom I'm with you on this one. I like going to & seeing bike events but I do not see the draw on camping with 50 to 5000 other people. I know people that go to the BMWMOA rally every year & that's their thing. My wife & I have gone to The Curve Cowboy Reunion the last 4 years & will go this year. The difference is CCR is held at 1 hotel / resort & most every one that goes are from this Forum so it is like a family reunion not a bike rally. Hopefully those that Go to the MOA & other rallies like that will chime in & educate us. :D

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
Yep, If you want to attend THE rally... The CCR is the one to go to..
All those others are just camping pirate shows...:)
We went twice and will likely go again when it comes around to our neighborhood again...

Unfortunately my work doesn't let me do it very often...

CYA

John

·
Registered
1,566 Posts