BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to sell my2002 LTC in a month. It has 19,800 miles, lots of extras, Rick Mayer seat and all services/paperwork.
Not looking for a buyer now, but a question for you.

Just what would you, as a prospective buyer, look for/at on a used bike? Mine has some scratches on the usual spots where it falls off the %#@*&$$ kickstand, but other than that, it's green and great. I'm thinking in the $12,500 neighborhood.

I have no ego, so be as real with your comments as you wish.

I'm buying a K1200GT.
Why?
'Cause I'm 61.
'Cause it's much lighter.
'Cause 152 hp.

Oh - I'm in Northern Nevada - too much snow on the ground to try to sell anything right now except sleds or hot buttered rum.

·
Registered
367 Posts
I'm new to the LT world, just brought an 02 LTC off this board. Not sure what you mean by lots of extras, but with most bikes, the extras usually don't get you more money, they just help the sale go a little quicker. I'd sell off the extras and return it to the LTC original condition and try to get close to retail (kbb or nada can give you an idea), currently around $11,000. If speed is an issue, you can usually get around 90% of retail off an ebay sale.

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
tarheel_rider said:
I'm new to the LT world, just brought an 02 LTC off this board. Not sure what you mean by lots of extras, but with most bikes, the extras usually don't get you more money, they just help the sale go a little quicker. I'd sell off the extras and return it to the LTC original condition and try to get close to retail (kbb or nada can give you an idea), currently around $11,000. If speed is an issue, you can usually get around 90% of retail off an ebay sale.
i agree. the closer to stock you can get it, the easier it will be to sell. nice features to you might not be desirable to someone else.