BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all!

I am new to the forum and considering joining the ranks of BMW owners. I have been riding the other brand (HD) for many years and frankly, I am bored with them!

I have demo' ed an LT and really like the handling, power, and extra's included with the bike from the factory. Read; heated seats and grips, power wind shield, reverse, ect...

Locally I have found two very nice LT's for sale:

1) 2005 with 40K miles for about 10 grand.

OR

2) 2000 with 24K miles and new tires for 8 grand.

The question being, besides the money is the higher mileage bike a better bet because it is newer? I am a bit concerned about the mileage.

Which would you choose??

Thanks to all!
HARFEND

·
Registered
92 Posts
Both bikes sound great. I love my '05 and I am about to turn 60,000mi. I hope it is still worth at least $10,000 but its not for sale. I guess overall maintenance would be most important between the two. Personally I would prefer the one that was ridden regularly and taken care properly. 15000mi shouldn't be a measurable difference between the bikes.

·
Registered
475 Posts
I'd go with the 05. More horsepower, digital dash, electric center stand. Plus the older bikes w little mileage can have problems w seals since they sit for long periods of times.

·
Premium Member
2011 R1200RT
8,175 Posts
While I would go for the 2005 I feel that both bikes are overpriced.
8 grand for a 2000? They must kidding!
And you can get a 2005 in the $8-9k with that kind of mileage, unless the bike has tons of extra, such a intercom, GPS, additional lights, etc..., or better yet - an extended warranty.
If I were you I would shop around a little before pulling the trigger.
We are still in the Winter months and you should be able to negotiate a better deal. JM2CW

·
Premium Member
1,490 Posts
Caveno said: