BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 LT that I am still using the 6 CD player on and want to convert to a MP3 or I POD or want ever. The objective is lots of high quality music. I also want to retain the control at the handle bars ---- soooo ---- how do I do this and what are the cost.

I am not an expert but was able to install PIA running lights and an Auto Com system without negatively impacting the bike. I do not understand the Ice cable but it sounds expensive so would be interested in other options but if that is the best option I am willing to fork over the $. I have not purchased a player yet.

·
Premium Member
149 Posts
MP3 Player installation

Is there anything out there about connecting an MP3 player to the comm system so it plays in stereo? My MP3 player (from Creative Labs) pretty much looks like a regular CD player. I like it because the buttons are big, but it does get in the way a bit. Anyway, I want to connect it into my BMW comm system so it will play in stereo.

I've seen the posts about the iPod installs, and I'd be willing to go out and get one (and all the other stuff mentioned) if:
1. The songs or groups of songs could be displayed (like how the CD player shows what disks are playing)
2. I could control the play lists through the switch on the handle bar cluster for the CD player
3. I can power the iPod through the bike (I know nothing about the iPod so if it has long lasting batteries or re-chargeable ones I guess it would be fine)

Any help would be appreciated. They are removing the plastic this weekend for my 12K service, so it would be great to get everything done then, if possible.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hallo Fred,

even if the ICE link is not the cheapest solution it is the only one to use the existing handle bar remote control.
I put the IPOD into the topcase and removed everything out from the side box.