BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work in the industrial electronics field so I took my failed starter relay in to work to test it. Strangely enough it tested as OPEN instead of closed. :confused: I have another one coming from MAX BMW so I thought I would tear it open and take a look inside. EEEEKS! This is like no relay I have ever seen! Look at the pics!

Talk about over-engineered! My boss tripped out on this thing then, showing his smarts, he GUESSED why it was designed this way. Anyway, this relay was failed due to, essentially, an overworked contactor. Very black and worn. Anyway, thought you all might be interested why these things are so expensive. :bmw:

·
Premium Member
1,500 Posts
Thanks for the pictures.

I had the starter relay out of a '86 K100 & was able to file the points on it & put it back in. I put a Ford car starter relay in & had he BMW starter relay trigger the Ford relay. On the older style relay, if you had a low battery. You could have the points stick in the relay. Then the bike keeps on cranking, even if you take the key out. On the relay you have it will not let that happen. It has a look see the the available voltage, if it no likey...it will not engage.

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
I'm going to assume that's all the protection circuitry involved in keeping the relay from energizing when the voltage is low....

What a mess...

John

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
JPSpen said:
I'm going to assume that's all the protection circuitry involved in keeping the relay from energizing when the voltage is low....

What a mess...

John
Exactly right/ It looks for what it needs to see or no activation of the relay. Nice but way over engineered like many BMW (German) products.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Is this the same starter relay that operates the starter motor to engage the reverse function? If so, I can imagine it could take quite a beating. :crazy:

·
Premium Member