BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a V-Stream about a year ago. I began to suspect that it had reduced my mileage "about 2 mpg". I decided to do a proper test. As a former Engineering Technician, I know about things like lurking variables and did my best to eliminate them. Each shield was tested 90% at 70 mph* on the Interstate, and 10% at 62 mph* on state 2 lane highways. The tests were replicated. Here's the data:
V-Stream Run #1 45.76 mpg Run #2 44.88 mpg Avg. = 45.32 mpg
Stock Run #1 47.88 mpg Run #2 46.77 mpg Avg. = 47.33 mpg
for a difference of 2.01 mpg. However, noting the difference in the runs, I'm only comfortable calling the difference "about 2 mpg".

The V-stream is a little bit quieter. It also made the bike just a little unsteady between 65* and 79* mph. (it's a very big shield).

*actual speed, not BMW speed, as determined by a digital Sigma sport speedo calibrated to within 1/2%.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Interesting as I am considering getting a new shield to replace my scratched stock shield. Of course, increased mpg claims will be something I'll be looking at.

What year is your LT? Did you use the same gas from the same pump for all tests?

Also, was your screen full up in each test?

·
Registered
220 Posts
HarvRead said:
I bought a V-Stream about a year ago. I began to suspect that it had reduced my mileage "about 2 mpg". I decided to do a proper test. As a former Engineering Technician, I know about things like lurking variables and did my best to eliminate them. Each shield was tested 90% at 70 mph* on the Interstate, and 10% at 62 mph* on state 2 lane highways. The tests were replicated. Here's the data:
V-Stream Run #1 45.76 mpg Run #2 44.88 mpg Avg. = 45.32 mpg
Stock Run #1 47.88 mpg Run #2 46.77 mpg Avg. = 47.33 mpg
for a difference of 2.01 mpg. However, noting the difference in the runs, I'm only comfortable calling the difference "about 2 mpg".