BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is is possible to trickle charge the battery though the DC ports? I know that the battery is easy to access on the LT but I am looking to do this for both my LT and my partner's R1100RT (where the battery is far less accessible). Being able to do this through the power ports would make it much easier.

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Mark,
From what I have read here and understand, yes, you can charge the battery through the BMW power outlets. You'll probably have to go to the BMW shop (don't forget your wallet :histerica ) to get the adapter. You might do a search to make sure I'm right. Wouldn't lead someone astray on purpose.

·
Registered
57 Posts
I plug my Battery Doctor into the power outlet above the shifter. I am not sure but I think that the outlet on the trunk is switched, but the one near the shifter is direct. I have been doing this for a couple of years now.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
awmasparky said:
. . . I am not sure but I think that the outlet on the trunk is switched, but the one near the shifter is direct. . .
Correct :)

I always plug mine in as a matter of course every time I park the bike up in my garage. I'm still on my original battery from July 2005, and so far, no problems.

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Hi Marc,

It will work fine on the LT & RT. Just to be sure that the outlet is NOT switched off, check it with a meter. If you see the battery voltage you are good to go. Also, the LT & the 1100RT DO NOT have canbus so that is not a problem. :D

·
Registered
244 Posts
markc said:
Is is possible to trickle charge the battery though the DC ports? I know that the battery is easy to access on the LT but I am looking to do this for both my LT and my partner's R1100RT (where the battery is far less accessible). Being able to do this through the power ports would make it much easier.