BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last year I changed from a Harley to K1200lt. It has been great! I did put a new battery in about 5 months ago, but have not rode it due to weather for about a month. I think I left something on and ran the battery low the other night. I went to ride and everything went as normal but would not turn over. I have a BMW brand battery charger that plugs into the accessory hole and turned it on for a few minutes. Had to run so instead of waiting about 20 I went ahead and moved the lever to start on the charger and tried to start it. When I did everything ended up going black. The fuses under the seat look ok, but I have little experience with this bike. Any suggestions on reset mechanisms or where a fuse is I might have popped, no lights or anything now........thanks

·
Premium Member
2,086 Posts
You cannot boost start thru the power socket. It has a 15 amp fuse. Number 7. 3rd one down in the middle box.

dan

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
What Dan says, plus you need to put a good charge, 6 to 10 amps on the battery. Not a trickle charge and look for that fuse Dan talks about and replace it.

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
I disagree Dan, an AGM battery that is almost fully discharged needs a much higher charging current to get it up and then maintaining at 2 amps is sufficient. I put a 6 amp charger on for 2 to 3 hours. The charger should be regulated to keep from over charging. An AGM will not recover from a deep discharge at 2 amps.

·
Premium Member
3,549 Posts
Very dead battery.

One problem you can have when trying to use the accessory outlet is oxidation. You plug the trickle charger into the outlet but no electricity will conduct.

Plus, the LT's electronics will deplete the battery within 7-10 days?

Best from Tucson
Bob

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
DanMartin said: