BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to how this system works and just would like to know......

To begin about a month ago looked at the PSI on the screen and the back tire was blank, didn't think much of it since I had checked the tires before leaving so I continued riding. At a stop I physically checked PSI, 40 and after leaving checked via screen it read 40.
About 2 weeks ago check PSI before leaving, all is well, about 50 miles down the road checked in on read out, again all is well....So continuing on down the road and I get an alarm red triangle look to see what it was and sure enough it was the rear tire sensor....stopped and checked the PSI, 42. later in the ride it fixed itself. I have even had both tires to show blank on the screen read out.

The problem is not the tire nor the tire PSI, it's the monitoring system
Is there a battery in the device? if so can it be replaced.....If the device needs replacement can you use a non BMW sensor, as they want close to $300 per? How does it work, Bluetooth?

·
Premium Member
1,625 Posts
The sensors are powered by little coin batteries, hard-wired to the sensors, if I understand things correctly. Wrong or no readings are signs that the batteries may be going flat. Others, with more experience, will chime in here, so stay tuned.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Probably sensor battery. Dealer has a tool that can check battery status if you want to be sure.

·
Premium Member
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The sensors are powered by little coin batteries, hard-wired to the sensors, if I understand things correctly. Wrong or no readings are signs that the batteries may be going flat. Others, with more experience, will chime in here, so stay tuned.
So the batteries are changeable?

·
Registered
109 Posts