BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been reading the 'board' for awhile now trying to get a feel for the LT from the members...have to come out of the closet and ask a question...
As my name suggests (or not...) I have been riding a black GL1800 for a couple of years, or about 65,000 miles. Had a bad scare on a 2 lane in major downpour. Next time you are on a tractor trailer infested major 2 lane highway with no overpasses or exits plus a soft gravel shoulder, in your cage and its raining like it does in Fla. sometimes, turn off the windshield wipers. Now stick your head out the window to try and see. Leave your glasses on. Drive for 35 miles. Change pants for a couple of reasons. Sell bike with NON ADJUSTABLE WINDSHIELD WHILE RIDING (frame cracking is a bonus for some lucky folks...) FEATURES.

O.K. got that off my chest. Loved the '96 R1100RT for years and miles. Learned to hate the (clunk) transmission. So I am thinking, R1200RT or K1200LT.

The 12RT would be a wonderful upgrade on the 11RT, but the LT would be a 'logical' comparision to the GL18.

I use my bike, (can only have one, insurance + limited season here in 'Wintada' ), to commute the 120miles to and from work. Don't ride the Dragon but I would like to some day...L'il Red comes along halfadozen times a year when the weather is perfect and she feels like it.

My question is; is the LT a good solo bike or primarily a '2-up' machine. In other words for the few times she would come along, (see priorities above...), am I spending $$ for features (and weight, gulp) that I don't need to lug around every day. The GL was a wonderful bike for power and smooth delivery. The weight was a concern on cottage lawns and rutted dirt roads leading up to same. O.K. once a year but I still want to take the bike.

Jim

·
Registered
253 Posts