BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,735 Posts
Nice pair of Held gloves (scotty's with the short finger option, thin on the heated grips, padded on the backs and sides.) AND a good heated jacket liner which is thin and can fit under your stock riding gear. Makes all the difference.
Gordon Gerbing's Heated Jacket Liner
Gordons is the original Gerbins. They are first class and back in business after selling the name. The current Girbings gear is made in china, Gordons is local in Washington State.
The single best thing I did for extending my riding season to all year here was a one piece Aerostitch suit.

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
Love my Warm-N-Safe gear. The Boss loves hers even more.

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
I have a heated vest and of course hippo hands. I frequently ride in sub 30 degree temps and find the aforementioned items adequate for longish rides in the 20's.

·
Premium Member
1,497 Posts
When I worked for a living I road my bike to work if it was 25 degrees or higher. +1 on the hippo hands & electric vest....& one piece Aerostitch suit :wave

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,981 Posts
I have heated gloves & socks & have rode 800 plus mile days with temps in the teens & single digits. My last layer of defense is my rain gear to keep the wind out .

·
Registered
392 Posts

·
Registered
764 Posts
I salute you penguin riders!

When I was on GL there was a bunch of hardy-dudes that rode Alaska and Canada in the winter. You might still find pics of them with icicles dangling from their mustache, knobby tires in the front and car tire on the back (that's right, on a Goldwing) in order to handle the snow.

My idea of riding below 40 deg. is a football game and a TV...a hot drink.

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
How quickly we are spoiled!