BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Enjoy The Ride
3,963 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to by a wheel balancer soon & have been trying to decide between a static or a spin balancer. I have a static balancer for the LT wheels. The static balancer is slow & on one of my rear wheels I have two heavy spots :think: . The blue painters tape is where the heavy spots are. Does anybody here have any experience with spin balancers ?.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
I have a Snap On spin balancer. It works very well and is easy to use. I also have a static balancer, takes a little more time but also works well and is a heck of a lot cheaper. If your a tool freak like me a spin balancer is a must. If you're more practical and just want an accurately balanced tire the static balancer is the way to go.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
I have been using the 'Marc Parnes' static balancer for 4 years. Its packable, very well made and super accurate.

Works with a variety of M/C wheels. You order specific adapters depending on your bike.

http://www.marcparnes.com/

·
Registered
637 Posts
saddleman said:
I'm going to by a wheel balancer soon & have been trying to decide between a static or a spin balancer. I have a static balancer for the LT wheels. The static balancer is slow & on one of my rear wheels I have two heavy spots :think: . The blue painters tape is where the heavy spots are. Does anybody here have any experience with spin balancers ?.
Why do you have two heavy spots in the same plane? They should combine and register as one heavy spot since they are in the same plane. This is a static balance situation. It suggests your wheel balance may be very close without any extra weights.

A spin balancer (called a dynamic balance) can detect out-of-plane balance problems - requiring two weights on opposite sides of the rim, although this isn't always necessary.

·
Registered
444 Posts
JATownsend said: