BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
has there been any success having squealing brakes repaired under warranty? 2 months old & becoming progressively worse. brakes function fine but the noise is embarrassing.

thanx
denis

·
Registered
66 Posts
As a nOOb, I can only respond to your question with my learnings from this site. But as a well-seasoned motorcyclist, I'd have to agree! My dealings with BMW in the past (this if my 4th) has been somewhat south of "stellar". Noisy brakes that still work well are not at the top of their list for warranty.

EBC brake pads. I'll install some on my rear caliper Tuesday. My front brakes don't make a peep.

·
Registered
3,223 Posts
I reported squealing brakes at my first service (1000km) last week... same response. "It's the xxxx (type) brake pads, doesn't affect braking though".
Annoying, nonetheless! But its only in that last 5 metres as I pull up next to the cars and they start looking at shiny new bike with the horrible brake noise...

·
Registered
182 Posts
Squeeky Brakes

I think BMW believes 'Loud brakes save lives'.... better than loud pipes I suppose.
I wish they would fix mine too. It is EMBARRASSING.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
Squealing brake fixs...

There are a couple of issues here with BMWs brakes. The most complaints seem to come from NEW bikes for a couple of reasons.

1. New brakes need to be bedded in. The routine is pretty simple: Accelerate up to 60 or so and REALLY nail the brakes. Grab a hand-full! Speed back up and let the brakes cool - 3 to 5 minutes of riding. Then, do it again. HARD.

2. The BMW stock rears are an organic compound and they tend to *Glaze* over a bit. Once glazed - they howl. Many users tend to baby the LTs power brakes and that exascerbates the issue. Give your brakes the same exercise you give the throttle. Ride it like ya stole it!

3. Switch to EBC rears. They are better, but, still do all the above.