BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I corrected my speedometer error by removing the top cover of windshield, then I removed the seven screws in the speedometer cover. I then turned the needle counterclockwise three clicks. I put it all back together, and had it checked by radar. It was dead on. This was an old trick that I used on several Harley Davidsons that I have owned. I could always get it dead on.
My BMW is a 2005 K1200LT. I don't know if the 04 and older BMW speedometer covers can be removed or not. The 05 is the only one that I
have had experience with. Be very careful if you try this. I turned the needle by grasping it at the ball part of the needle. I made one mistake and had to go back clockwise. If you do this you will have to lift the end of the needle over the peg, but it will not break. The needle will rest with key off to the right of the zero. If you try this and have trouble you can e-mail me at [email protected]

PS. It took me approximately 30 to 40 minutes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
Anyone know if that fix is possible on an 02.
BLB - can you post some pics?
Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,424 Posts
I wouldn't recommend this on pre'05

RoyvL said:
Anyone know if that fix is possible on an 02.
BLB - can you post some pics?
Thanks
I wouldn't recommend that procedure on a pre-05 model LT. If you want to do it the correct way, you want to go here. It is the recommended and best way to get you speedometer more accurate.

HTH YMMV
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
370 Posts
I found this link: http://www.bmwlt.net/ubbthreads/sho...T&Number=16632&page=8&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=0

I rode my 2000 LTC this morning and found that with the cruise control st at 80 mph, my computer was sh0wing 75.4. This stayed constant even though I reset (cleared) the computer several times. At 85MPH on the speedo the computer showed 80.

I'll have to borrow a GPS to see which one is correct.

Any input/ideas on why the two are 5 +/- MPH off ?
 

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
Joined
·
14,192 Posts
We have found the computer on reset to be very accurate as opposed to the uncorrected speedo which always reads high.

Now for the 05 and up no need to click it back - just pull the needle and then press it back on about 5 mph low. The error is consistent. I never look at mine since I have a GPS.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,883 Posts
jzeiler said:
We have found the computer on reset to be very accurate as opposed to the uncorrected speedo which always reads high.

Now for the 05 and up no need to click it back - just pull the needle and then press it back on about 5 mph low. The error is consistent. I never look at mine since I have a GPS.
Wish we could do that on the O2's. Hate to take it all apart and solder wires.... Sort of gotten used to it reading fast. Maybe that has kept me from getting performance awards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
659 Posts
jzeiler said:
I never look at mine since I have a GPS.
I still don't understand relying on GPS unless one is going on straight roads. As I understand it, it's a measurement "as the crow flies" and if you're curving around mountain roads it still measures straight line...
 

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
Joined
·
14,192 Posts
No it is a very accurate speed but loss of a sat or two can throw a momentary error in. We got back from a ride in the smoky mountains and the wife pointed at the "max" speed window and said "I don't remember doing 145 MPH".

In general it is much more accurate than the BMW speedo and it is 100% in line with both my Lincoln and the Town & Country on trips. Distance covered will be off a bit as it does use a bit of "the crow flying stuff". The available WAAS and accurate maps make it my choice for correct speed. Your info was true a few years ago when the military blocked the accurate time signal necessary for high accuracy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
GPS distance is straight line but the current speed is accurate way beyond the speedometers that we have on our bikes and cars.

Ride safe,

Bruce
 

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
Joined
·
14,192 Posts
Its really all in the sampling rate just like digital music sounds so good but it is really choppy if you reduce the sample rate and I can make a whole bunch of little straight lines go around a pretty shape curve - if they are short enough.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,549 Posts
By design, the 00 speedo if off by around 8-9%.

If you go thru the past speedo posts, there is an easy mod to get the speedo accurate.

It involves a lot of work removing the speedo unit, and a simple install of a short jumper between to spots on the surface mount PCB.

Bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
408 Posts
BLB said:
I then turned the needle counterclockwise three clicks. .
I'm not sure what you mean by "turned". Do you mean you pulled the needle off and then pushed it back onto the shaft? Or?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
I do not think bending / turning speed indicator needle will work on LT's as the speedo is an electronic meter unlike speedos of the past that were a mechanical - magnetic device . Its a good deal of work but the results were worth the effort and you will get to see into the bowels of your bike .

Bob G
99LT
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,241 Posts
The 05 and up speedos are off a constant amount 45 = 40, 55 = 50 etc so you can move the needle back on the spindle and it will work. Pre 05s are off by 10% 66 = 60, 33 = 30 etc so you have to do the jumper mod.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,549 Posts
Analog display.
Bend the arm for an accurate reading, and the stops will be off.
I think all analog meters function the same was. Magnet and a coil that electricity flows through; the spring returns the needle back to the beginning stop. The only difference is how much energy is needed for full scale deflection; lower amounts equate to more accurate.

If I remember correctly, its the current thru the coil that creates the magnetic field, moving the needle.

bob
 

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
Joined
·
14,192 Posts
The 05 and up are electronic servos that reset zero each time you power up. You need to pull the needle off the shaft and then replace it over for the correction to work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Re: speedometer indicator is short

Buying this 2002 r1150rt and I noticed that the indicator pointer either has broken off or jus plain too short. Why. It does not reach the numbers and I do not see any broken edges or pieces within. Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I'm curious, since the speedometer is off by 5 mph on the 05 and later, does that mean the odometer is also off and thereby the mpg on the display? I'm in the market for a K1200LT (I'm looking at an 05 with 31K on it at the moment). I have a VW bus that I have larger wheels on so it messes up my speed and odometer by 5%. I'm used to seeing a slower speed that actual, not that a VW bus can do anything but a slow speed.

-Scott
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top