BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My shifter went on me today three blocks from home talk about luck was planning a good day of riding and not close to home, but I do carry the replacement parts.

This is my first time to replace it and doing a search I can not seem to find a step by step how to do the work, did I miss it, can anyone help I have the side plate off, do I need to remove the tupperware on that side top and bottom?

I did see that people have found a heavy duty kit which I will likely go for after this, although I have 70,000 on the original but I also lube it on a regular bases.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
Depending which stud broke you can access all linkage with removal of the lower left fairing. suggest you check all links .

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
bruce13p said:
My shifter went on me today three blocks from home talk about luck was planning a good day of riding and not close to home, but I do carry the replacement parts.

This is my first time to replace it and doing a search I can not seem to find a step by step how to do the work, did I miss it, can anyone help I have the side plate off, do I need to remove the tupperware on that side top and bottom?

I did see that people have found a heavy duty kit which I will likely go for after this, although I have 70,000 on the original but I also lube it on a regular bases.

Thanks
Here Bruce:
http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20134&highlight=linkage+repair

This should get you on yur way. BTW I never had to remove any tupperware but others say it is easier.

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
bruce13p said:

Thanks
Hey Bruce, mine came off twice before I put a heavy duty one on. No problem installing it, I did it in a parking lot with a 10mm wrench and a pair of needle nose pliers. Took about 15 minutes. No need to take the tupperware off, just the side plate.

Garry

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #5