BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to BMW's and want to know the difference between the K1200 RT & K1200 LT

·
Registered
5,408 Posts
zBLVD said:
I am new to BMW's and want to know the difference between the K1200 RT & K1200 LT
The last time I responded to such a general question with a suggestion to use the site's excellent search engine (TO GET THE REQUESTER TO THE GREATEST AMOUNT OF USEFUL INFO AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE!) I was chastized as a Search Nazi.

Ergo, I note simply that as a threshold matter, there has been no K1200RT, so we need to focus your inquiry a bit.

There have been a K1200LT, a K1200RS and an R1200RT. At the highest level, the K12RS is the sport version and the K12LT is the upright touring version of the K1200 flying brick longitudinal four. The R1200RT is the two-cylinder boxer sport tourer.

Which pair do you want to compare? Small differences between the K's; big differences between the K and the R; the latter are so fundamentally different in approach/riding experience that it will be a not trivial task to cover it all.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mark, I can assure you that I will not think of you as a Nazi, lol. A friend of mine has a BMW and I "thought" the model was K1200RT, but I must have read it incorrectly. Also, I don't know anything about BMW's and I am brand new to this site and not familiar with searching, but I will learn.

I think you answered my question. It looks like the RS is a sport, and the 1200LT (4 cyl) touring and 1200RT (2 cyl) touring.

I am going to assume the 4 cyl is a better touring bike.

Thanks

Paul

·
Registered
1,985 Posts
I am the owner of an LT but that assumption is not exactly correct.

It would depend on what sort of touring you do and if you go solo. The RT is an excellent bike, many would say that it is better than the LT as it has more up to date electronics and suspension.