• No

Votes: 4 80.0%
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2019 R1250RT
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I bought my bike last year I paid for a 5 year rim/tire insurance. It costs $399 CAD and is good across Canada and the US. It covers rim damage and tire damage not including normal wear. I asked for the dealer to send me a copy of the policy in case I need it. Turns out they forgot to activate the policy and now I have the option of them activating it now or receiving a refund. So the question is, do you guys think this is worth it? I've been riding for 6 or 7 years now and have never had a flat or dented wheel. I could put this money towards my Abba Skylift and crash bars that I'm planning to order this month...

·
Premium Member
961 Posts
Personally, I'd take a refund.

I've done a little riding over the years and can't recall ever damaging a rim. The only tire damage has been from punctures. Considering the cost of tire insurance vs the probability of tire damage over time isn't worth the money for the insurance.

Again, just my opinion.... ¯\(ツ)

·
Registered
574 Posts
Last year I dented the front rim on my R1200RT. It was repairable, so it cost me $200 to get it straightened. The paint wasn't a perfect match (Wurth Silver wheel paint) but with the brake disks in place and the wheel mounted to the bike you can't even tell it was ever touched. If the wheel were not repairable, the part alone would have been about $1200.

I bought an R Nine T last fall and did end up getting the wheel and tire protection on that because I figured that the spoked rims could be even more expensive to replace. I was wrong about that as they're cheaper, but they may be more likely to be damaged in a way that requires replacement rather than repair. I'm glad I got it.

Reactions: Audi403

·
Registered
2018 R1200RT
263 Posts