BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to the world of the LT, I bought my 1999 LT in December. I've put on about 2,500 miles already and have not had any problems. However, I've been reading this forum regularly for a couple of months now and of course, a lot of the questions have to do with what has gone wrong with particular LT's. It seems the LT is prone to certain particular problems, like final drive failure. And I realize there are many more systems that can possibly go wrong on a bike as complex as the LT when compared with less sophisticated bikes.

So my question is, how reliable is the LT when compared to other similar bikes, the the Goldwing, etc.? If I were reading a Goldwing forum, would I find the equivalent? Or is there one luxury tourer that is more or less reliable than the others. Those of you who have owned several brands might be able to give me a comparison.

·
Registered
303 Posts
I've had my 00lt for 5yrs now and what a great ride. You'll find a lot of good info here on how to fix a problem if you have one. I used to worry too after reading some of the stuff here but the LT will earn your confidence. Take her as for as you want to go and don't worry. Like they say here, ride it like you stole it.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
mcpsycle said:
So my question is, how reliable is the LT when compared to other similar bikes, the the Goldwing, etc.? If I were reading a Goldwing forum, would I find the equivalent? Or is there one luxury tourer that is more or less reliable than the others. Those of you who have owned several brands might be able to give me a comparison.
Mike,
Respectfully, I don't think you're going to get a lot of replies. This gets dragged over the coals too often.