BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I didn't Ride for 4 days,,,,sad face!!

So I take off for work on my '02 LT early this morning and being in NE Ohio roads are horrible anyway... But I feel like I have a flat in the rear.... Stop give her a kick, has something....continue to work....

Again not sure if it the roads but seemingly bouncing like being in a '67 Electra 225 with no shocks....

Once at work I tested the air pressure, put her up on the center stand with what seemed to be much easier than ever ever before my 1st coffee...

NOTE: I am very new to the LT, previously had an RT for 15 years...

Up on the stand to me on flat ground it was odd that I could not pivot the bike to spin either the front or rear wheel.... Tire pressure was perfect....

Recent work:
Tires are new
new hyperPro springs on original shocks
changed preload oil

Looking at the Preload Adjust there was a drop of oil on the bottom of the adj cap and some on the hose.....

If this thing has leaked all the oil out, is the above the effects?

Thanks guys

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
If the load on the bike ( weight) has not changed, all the preload will do is raise or lower the rear suspension within its range of adjustment. If you are very light and have the preload cranked all the way up, you could be bouncing off the top of the shock travel. The HyperPro springs are progressively wound so would provide a higher spring rate sooner in the range of shock travel. How long have you had the springs installed. I am assuming that this feeling is something you did not notice the last time you rode the bike? Is there any oil leaking from the rear shock itself?

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
15,429 Posts