BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Rear Drive & Transmission Gear Lube Question

Don't mean to start another oil thread but I do have a question. I've been using ****** gear lube in all my bikes since back in 1999. I've recently moved to a new area and cannot find a convenient retail source for those products and I'm due for a major service on the LT. Yea, I know I can become a "dealer" but don't want to spend the $30 or so to do that. My usage is not sufficient to justify that.

Anyway, my question is; What are ya'll using for gear lube? I'm looking for something that's readily available in the retail market place and that is hi quality and compatible with the ****** that I've been using. Suggestions?

·
Registered
2,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OK, I give up. sorry about posting this twice. Can't seem to figure out how to delete it. also the software doesn't seem to like it when I type ******! that is A M S O I L

·
Registered
710 Posts
I'm not a tribologist but as I understand it, part of meeting the API and manufacturer specification for a lubricant is being compatible with all oils meeting the same specification. Even synthetic and mineral base are fully compatible so long as they meet the same specs.

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
I used to use Mobil 1...Now I use Bel-Ray Gear Saver.. It has greatly improved the shifting of the RT...

John

John

·
Registered
2,193 Posts
When I went on the Wally's World 12 step program I switched from Mobil 1 to the NAPA brand, about 50k ago. Can't tell any difference. Sure don't miss Wally's World :rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
2,338 Posts
Lynn_Keen said:
OK, I give up. sorry about posting this twice. Can't seem to figure out how to delete it. also the software doesn't seem to like it when I type ******! that is A M S O I L
You can order direct if you have the retailer's Distributor number. PM me if you would like some help.
:)

·
Premium Member