BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Ive noticed that the rear brake disk has become loose.Has this happened to anyone else. I know that there are two or three retaining screws holding the disk onto the shaft.Do I need to buy new screws when replacing them. Is it as simple as taking it off and tightning them.
Any comments welcome
[email protected]

·
Registered
1,899 Posts
Paul, I assume you are talking of the "Cowbell" effect on the rear disc. While I am far from an expert, I believe that the rear disc needs to be replaced, the bolts go through rivets and they (the rivets) tend to work loose, which causes the "Cowbell" effect.

I replaced mine with an "EBC" rear replacement disc, I believe about half the price of OEM, and works very well, I also replaced pads at the same time.

Search site FAQ for instructions on "How" to do the work of changing it out, The abs ring needs to be moved ovet to the new rotor. This can be a challenge, so instructions will be very helpful.

HTH,

·
Registered
457 Posts
yes it needs replaced if you don't like the cowbell, otherwise keep on riding. I tried to replace mine with an EBC rotor and after 3 rotors sent to my house and returned I gave up on EBC. Every disc I got from them was out of spec. The disc's were not warped but rather different thicknesses around the disc.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Jabrown said:
yes it needs replaced if you don't like the cowbell, otherwise keep on riding. I tried to replace mine with an EBC rotor and after 3 rotors sent to my house and returned I gave up on EBC. Every disc I got from them was out of spec. The disc's were not warped but rather different thicknesses around the disc.
What did you end up going with if not EBC? Back to BMW? I need to pull the trigger on something. How long ago was this? Thanks

·
Registered
457 Posts
dglenn1 said: