BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Clear-coated it, I promise this is the last post...

But the clear did make the metal flake POP...

Pete

Attachments

·
Registered
989 Posts
Hey, Pete - I must have missed your original posts.

So, forgive duplication: the paint job looks just great, what did you use for base and coat?

Do you think it will hold up to road debris?

·
Premium Member
1,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
previous threads were:
http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26134

and

http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26003

Sanded all three pieces (off the bike) with 400-grit paper first, then Duplicolor sandable fill-in primer did wonders, even on the two spots I had some damage from a tip-over, followed that with 340-grit sandpaper, then three coats of Duplicolor "metal flakes" silver paint (three cans was perfect, but I am a beginner--more skilled may have been able to accomplish this with less).

Wet-sanded that with 1000-grit to smooth the over-spray (I had a couple areas that were rough to the touch and therefore weren't as reflective). Went over the whole thing with rubbing compound, then polishing compound, then cleaned it with solvent to remove any remaining dust/etc.

Two light coats and one "wet" coat of Duplicolor spray clear top coat (I know, would have been better to go with an air compressor, etc, but I didn't have all that). Again, very LIGHTLY gone over with wet sand 1000 grit, just used the polishing compound this time, and WOW did it come out nice for a guy who has to re-read the directions on shampoo or screw up the "shampoo, rinse, repeat" directions...