BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gents,

I'm new to Beamers & am seriously considering the purchase of a new (2012 or 2013) R1200RT. I've also considered the K1600 GT. The pricing, fun factor, lightness, & nimbleness are all attractive traits of the 1200. However, a local dealer rep all but talked crap on the 1200 citing the maintenance costs were HIGH, and that 1600 was a far superior bike.

I wondered what your thoughts were on the 1200's reliability, maintenance costs etc? Also, I keep hearing that the 1200 is going to be a water-boxer, which seems like a good progression although many are saying "stay away" from a 2013 water cooled RT.

Addmitingly, im a bit of a fair weather rider and will not likly put a million miles a year on the bike. I come from a moto background and have ridden EVERY style of bike. Even the, dare I say it here (HD) which i may also still consider. A Kawasaki Concours is also still in play. Any input any of you have would be greatly appreciated, and please, do not hold the HD thing against mem :)

·
Registered
285 Posts
I can't really say which cost more to maintain since I know little about the K1600. But you can always do a lot of the simple maintenance yourself and save a lot of money. The cost of oil and filters is not that bad. Having said that I would think that it is much easier to work on the boxer engine than the new 6 cylinder engine.