BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all a Newbie here with a silly question that most likely can’t be answered. A BMW dealer will sell me a 2006 K1200R for $12,900 with about 8,500 km on the clock or I can go private and get a 2008 R1200RT-P for $11,500 with 45,000 km I haven’t seen the RT but the K looks almost brand new. I ride 90 km 5 days a week rain, hail and heat of 40C + to -5C. I liked the RT because it seems to suit the conditions and servicing seems to be a lot easier as I will DIY all I can. But I have the feeling that the Police might not be that nice riding the bikes even if it has been serviced on time.

The guy with the RT seems to have bought a couple at auction so hopefully the condition is not to bad so making decision now could change once I see it. The RT doesn’t have any log books but comes with the user manual and spare key. The K was fun to ride but I’m not sure how it will go over the distance. Which ever I buy I want to ride it until it dies. I’m selling my TDM 900 to fund it because I wasn’t happy with the quality and I’m really hoping BMW will be better. Does anyone know if the RT-P has traction control I think it has ASC with the ABS but no cruise or ESA is there anything else it won’t have over the standard RT?

·
Registered
2,713 Posts