BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This photo is of the Left side brake calibers, as you can see one of the pistons has a hole in it (the other side does not have this hole).

This does not seem to effect anything as the brakes were working fine.

Would this hole effect anything or should I continue to use the caliber as is?

Thank you.

This is off a 1999 K1200 LT. with 34K miles.

Attachments

·
Registered
165 Posts
While I am new to the BMW brakes, the Goldwing brakes pistons never made a hole like that. I found the brake rebuild kit and am attaching a pic. Something is eating the crap out of those piston faces. Good luck!

Attachments

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
While I am new to the BMW brakes, the Goldwing brakes pistons never made a hole like that. I found the brake rebuild kit and am attaching a pic. Something is eating the crap out of those piston faces. Good luck!
Where did you find the rebuild kit, do you have the website?

It looks like the pistons are replaceable too ?

Thank you.

·
Registered
4,356 Posts
Hello,

This photo is of the Left side brake calibers, as you can see one of the pistons has a hole in it (the other side does not have this hole).

This does not seem to effect anything as the brakes were working fine.

Would this hole effect anything or should I continue to use the caliber as is?

Thank you.

This is off a 1999 K1200 LT. with 34K miles.
The hole itself will not have any effect on breaking but I do see what Snape is talking about. I don't see a smooth route edge on those pistons protruding from the caliper. they look all chewed up in that picture.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
Hey, come on, we are talking about brakes. Fix it. It's your life. The kit looks good, hope there is a come back. BMW sells this at a reasonable (yeah, I know) price:
0 34 11 2 331 631 SET: REPAIR SET BRAKE CALIPER (to 01/01) 0.37 2 $98.06ADD TO CART