BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ask this as an opinion for the prospect of long term durability. When I purchased my K1200LT new in 2006 and being a BMW novice, I wasn’t sure about its resilience. From 2006 to 2012, most often with it loaded down and run hard, it performed without a single glitch which instilled my confidence. Before I converted it to a Hannigan trike, in 2012, I had to replace the clutch assembly due to a transmission seal leak but all has been well since then. Adding the Hannigan puts an additional load of 320 pounds to this already weighty beast. Then in 2013 I picked up an Aspen Classic camper near Chicago on my way to Colorado. I never really thought about whether the engine or drive train could handle an addition load of the 350 pounds empty weight for the long term. Pulling this up and down some Colorado Rockies and across many states on my return trip, not a single problem other than some valid high coolant temps on the mountain ascents in 92 degree weather.