BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all.. potential K1200LT owner here. I've been riding all sorts of motorcycles for over 45 years but never had a large touring machine. I'm currently blasting around the backroads on a 2014 Moto Guzzi Griso 1200SE and loving it but feeling a bit lonely. The wife has said she'll ride with me but wants a "throne" seat like on a Gold Wing or Harley Ultra. I was at a dealer the other day and saw an immaculate 2006 K1200LT for around 5K USD. Apart from needing tires, it appears to be perfect and i plan to take a test ride tomorrow. I've been to see it twice now and there are no drips or leaks anywhere and it shows no evidence of ever being dropped. It literally looks like brand new

Sitting on it, it feels very comfortable, well balanced and not "top heavy" as some have described. I'm 5'10, 175lbs and the wife is 5'8", 140lbs.. any observations about riding this version two up? I'm really impressed with the looks compared to the Gold Wings and have a reputable BMW dealer close to home.. Anything to look for on the test ride?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Tim

·
Registered
315 Posts
Sounds like a good bargain! You can’t beat the LT for passenger comfort. My wife won’t ride on anything else (I have 6 bikes). I have a Guzzi also, ‘07 Norge. If the LT still has rubber brake hoses they should be replaced with braided steel lines.

·
Registered
473 Posts
I bought mine in 2017 and it's a 2005 model that had been pretty well looked after. They are a complex machine but if you are handy with tools you will be able to do most of the work yourself.
If you ride with other guys you'll be the one not complaining about a sore backside and a stiff back. I don't think you will be disappointed.

·
Registered
3,223 Posts
You wont even know your wife's behind you unless you start taking corners too fast for her.. slap across the head will remind you. :rolleyes::D