BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Im relatively new to my 99 k12lt, but i had a chance to take it on a long ride before this problem and can tell there is a problem. So, on with the story.

I rode to work just fine no prob at all. let the bike sit on a sidestand all day 8hrs leaning it slightly downhill (the pistons facing downhill) Ive done this before and no prob but i thought it was worth note. when i started it up i got the usual smoke no big deal. but i also noticed it had a bit of trouble getting the bike to start from a stop. I thought it was because it was started cold and i was still sort of new to it. so i went home and continued to take it on a 100 mile trip to a friends house. again i noticed it would not start from a stop well I also noticed that while on the freeway at 80mph or so in 5th gear i was having a hard time accelerating. Im not talking about anything crazy i just couldnt get it to go faster than 80mph without downshifting. this is not normal as my last long trip i could easily do this. also i noticed i was getting around 30mpg as checked when i did the math on the mileage vs. what gas i bought. that isnt right from the posts ive read or from my other long trip experience where i got 42 mpg going from 80 to 90 mph most of the way. last of all i noticed there is a bit of a loudness that wasnt there before in the engine area and a specific lugging sound at 3400 to 3800 rpm in all gears while in that range. my first thought was fouled spark plugs I havent tried the tps reset yet but i think i may be dealing with something more than that (and i havent disconnected my battery in a long while) Oh and no unusual lights on in the dash area (do these even have an SES light?)

In summary
poor mpg
poor acceleration
noise 3400 to 3800 rpm
no warning lights

whats wrong braintrust? thanks for any advice you have or tips on figuring this one out.

·
Registered
51 Posts