BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Whenever I am using the 2 y/o passport on the LT, it will automatically set the LASER detection off under hard acceleration. When I am using the passport in my truck, the LASER detection is set off whenever I honk the horn, accelerate hard, or turn the wipers on. It used to scare the &*%$ out of me, but now I have become annoyed.

Anyone ever have this problem or know how to fix?? Can the Passport be sent in for free upgrades/fixes like the Valentin can??

·
Registered
2,651 Posts
I have a V1 that goes off in my car whenever I beep the horn. I have not figured it out yet.

·
Registered
145 Posts
I'm no expert on these matters, but I do know that the V1 is very sensitive to voltage fluctuations and or any kind of intermittant short/fault in the power supply. Could that be the source of your mystery alerts?

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am assuming so because it is only doing it during voltage shifts. I was just curious if others had the problem and if it could be cured. Thanks for the replies.

·
Registered
448 Posts
8500 mystery

Had some similar issues when the 8500 is hooked up to the LED unit in my helmet. Whenever I engage the "Push to Talk" button for my Kenwood FRS, it sets off the radar-- LED in my helmet. Not sure of the cause just yet-- sure open to any ideas. No issues otherwise.

·
Cat Herder
1,492 Posts
HI There, I have an older Passport (not the 8500) and I had an issue with the laser going off all of the time. I sent it back to Cincinnati Microwave and they repaired it for free. CM is now partners with Bell Labs... tvguy

·
Premium Member
877 Posts