BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm a noob that just got a 2004 K1200LT from my uncle. I asked him if the FD had ever gone out on it and he told me he had it replaced after only 200 miles (he bought it new on'04). I thought that sounded wierd so today I called the dealer where he bought it to check on maintinance records etc. and they confirmed that they replaced his FD after the first 223 miles because it came from the factory with no oil. The tech said it was a first for him in over 32 years! Anyway- just a good story. Love the bike and thanks to all the tech info from you gurus!!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That would be a shame! Do you think the new final drive they put on would have been one of the new "fixed" FD's?? Not sure when they started building FDs with the better bearing????

·
Registered
876 Posts
Not bad for no oil, presuming it (the FD unit) would have been assembled with just lube here and there. I make it 179,500 wheel revs, which is 522,345 pinion revs and approximately 6.5 operating hours if the average speed was 55 Kph. great stuff that oil, makes all the difference ! Thanks to the many Dinosaurs who gave their lives so we could indulge in the pleasures of motorcycling.

·
Registered
4,404 Posts
DrSuess said:
That would be a shame! Do you think the new final drive they put on would have been one of the new "fixed" FD's?? Not sure when they started building FDs with the better bearing????
There is no "better bearing".
2004 is pretty much past the plume of crownwheel bearing failures which were most likely caused by improper preload shim thickness. Odds are that is a good FD.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
CharlieVT said:
There is no "better bearing".
2004 is pretty much past the plume of crownwheel bearing failures which were most likely caused by improper preload shim thickness. Odds are that is a good FD.