BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 2002 1150RT and have noticed that if the bike stalls on start-up, I have a difficult time with starting it uo in the second try. I am new to EFI and am not sure if I am doing something incorrect. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks,
Ted :mad:

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
Starting with the assumption that there is no issue with the bike... lets assume it is the way you are starting it:

Here is how I do it. Turn on the key... wait for the electronics to be happy (a second or two)...hit the start button.

No throttle, no clutch, not in gear... not even sitting on the bike.

If this is what you do, you are going to need to tell us more before we can help.

·
Premium Member
1,561 Posts
Let's see......
Should be a little cool in the Northwet right now......
Are you using the enricher ?
Prolly best to write out your start procedure for us to look at...............

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. My problem seems to be after I start it up and if I don't use the fast idler enough it will stall, but the real dilemma seems to be that when I try to re-start the bike, it has a difficult time turning over. The first time I start the bike, it works well, but if it stalls for some reason (usually my mistake), it just son't fire back up right away. It seems that I have to grind on the starter for a while. Do you reset the idler again if you are starting it back up when it is warm?
Thanks, I know it seems to be a stupid question but I am not sure the best way to remedy it.
Ted

·
Registered
130 Posts
Ted,
Sounds like you may have a combination of minor issues.

Startup-
Key on. Wait for deep whirr/rumble (fuel pump priming). Wait for whizzy sound (i-ABS initialising). Warning triangle goes out on dash. ABS lamp continues flashing at 1Hz until you ride away..