BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to this forum although not new to motorcycling. I've been riding 40 plus years and I'm still a yougin'!

I'm in the investigative stage of possibly purchasing an LT. I'd like a 2010 model or by the time I purchase, it might be an 2011 model. Obviously since this is a BMW forum, you're gonna say you like your LT...as well you should! Of those that have a 2010, what do you like about it, what do you dislike? Also, did you ride a Goldwing before?

I live in Tennessee and currently ride a 2002 Road King Classic. No rude comments please...ha.

For what it's worth, I've been driving BMW cars since 1988.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Ex Gold Wing AND H-D pilot here.. Get yourself a nice used or leftover (unsold) LT and don't look back.
Either that or wait it out to see exactly what the new 1600 is all about.
Having already experienced the H-D, you would love the LT just because it's such a different animal.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Hey ya David Welcome to the Asylum

From 2005 to present all the bikes are the same meaning no changes have been made to them also note that 2010 if you can find one will be the last year model of the LT instead it will be replaced by the new GTL model.

I have a 2009 bought new and I love the machine couple of thing could be better but you're going to find that with any bike.

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
No such thing as a 2010 LT.. 09 is when they stopped making them

The new bike will be the K1600 GTL Or GT..

Not sure if they will produce an LT at this point...

John

·
Registered
14 Posts
It sounds like you and I are in a similar soup. My previous ride was an H-D and I purchased the 2009 LT. I really liked the handling of the H-D at speeds below 15 mph. My LT is more top heavy and requires more attention when moving at that pace.