BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone ,
This is my first time here and I have a few questions regarding my 05 LT. I bought it used two weeks ago with 9000 miles on it. So far I love the bike even though it don't have the grunt of my valkyrie. My concerns are the clouds of smoke when first starting it when it's cold. It's not too bad when parked on the center stand but when on the side stand I can fog the whole yard. It also sounds like a diesel when idling and if I run the rpm up between 2000-3000 rpm it makes a loud knocking sound which has me feeling uneasy. I hope this purchase wasn't a mistake as I love everything else about the bike. Thanks Mike (rotax07)

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
The LT does tend to smoke when parked on the side stand, it caused by the downward slant of the pistons. Some do it more than others. Keep it up right for a few seconds, not running, when you park it to reduce the occurences. Otherwise tell the onlookers it a diesel.:)

My 2000 started getting noisy last week, just like you described. I checked and I had Loose connections at the positive battery connection. It the alternator making the noise. Tightened everything up and she sounds normal again.

·
Registered
60 Posts
alternator

My bike seems to be making this sound, but the connections on the battery are tight. Could it be the bearing in the alternator? Anyone have any ideas???

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
While idling, especially if you have anything extra turned on, the alternator on the LT does tend to get noisy. Mine's done it for 35K now, with no ill-effects whats-so-ever.

Smoking when starting? Oh! That's the cylinder pre-oilers! :D

rotax07 said:
if I run the rpm up between 2000-3000 rpm it makes a loud knocking sound