BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
my name is Nick, and a few days ago I traded a non-running FXR, for a 2001 BMW 1200LT.
GREAT TRADE!
You all sound very nice, and encouraging with every post I have read, trying to come to at least a novice understanding of the maintenance, and mechanical requirements of owning a BMW.
Although I'm new to BMW, I have been riding for about 26 years, many makes and models, but mostly pre-twin-cam Harleys.
I have owned, and fixed everything from a Benelli, Suzuki GT380, 2 different Goldwings, and many other imports over the years, but my passion has been 2 iron-head sporties, both a generator shovel, and a cone shovel, a softail, and Electra-glide, and recently an FXR that was demon possessed.
Now I'm a bit older, and wanting to rebel, once again, against the accepted culture of current times, I prayed for another, DEPENDABLE, bagger and God sent me a 2001 K1200LT.
As I am brand new to this bike and BMWs as a whole, I have a few questions, so, with your help, lets get started:
88K, and she looks nearly new, runs pretty good.
I checked the motor-oil, coolant, and final-drive fluid levels and all are fine.
I was concerned about the final-drive because I'm hearing a bunch of stories in this group about issues with the final-drive, so checking I found the fluid to be new and red. No leaking, but as it seems to have been changed recently the bike might have been cleaned prior to my getting her, so I'll keep an eye out for leaking as I put miles on her.
1) My literature, which came with the bike when it was new, says to top off the transmission oil to the top of the fill-hole, but where is the fill-hole?
2) Even though the front and rear brake-pads look with-in service limits, the rear rotor is grooved, and the ABS lights are flashing. Any suggestions on how to diagnoses the ABS lights?