BMW Luxury Touring Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2016 R1200RT
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All of my other non-BMW Garmin GPS units are recognized by Garmin Express. When I plug in the Nav V, the USB port does not see any data and does not connect to the Nav V. The Nav V charges from the USB connection, but no data flow. I haven't had the bike nor the Nav V very long, so I am new to the BMW branded GPS units.

Is updating firmware via Garmin Express a BMW thing that they have locked-out so you have to go to a dealer to take advantage of any firmware or map updates?

Thanks for any thoughts.
Forester

·
Premium Member
2020 R1250RT Alpine White
154 Posts
All of my other non-BMW Garmin GPS units are recognized by Garmin Express. When I plug in the Nav V, the USB port does not see any data and does not connect to the Nav V. The Nav V charges from the USB connection, but no data flow. I haven't had the bike nor the Nav V very long, so I am new to the BMW branded GPS units.

Is updating firmware via Garmin Express a BMW thing that they have locked-out so you have to go to a dealer to take advantage of any firmware or map updates?

Thanks for any thoughts.
Forester
Garmin Express should recognize the BMW unit without an issue and update the maps and/or firmware as needed. You might want to make sure you have downloaded the latest Garmin Express (it was just updated recently) but otherwise your problem may lie elsewhere.

Good luck,
Larry

·
Registered
2016 R1200RT
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Larry,
I am glad to hear that it should work with no problems, but mine is not sending any data to the computer at all. I updated to the latest version of GE a couple of days ago and no cigar. This unit came with my 2016 RT. Is there something that I need to get from the previous owner to allow the unit to function properly for me? Tnx

·
Registered
4 Posts

Thanks for any thoughts.
Forester

·
Premium Member
154 Posts
Hey Larry,