BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,066 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Christmas Eve

Today started out fairly normal for me....awakened at 4:45 AM to get ready for work. All
the morning preparations completed, I hopped on the trusty LT for my morning ride in.
Gerbings on.... and a crisp 39 degrees made for a nice ride with little to no traffic due to
the holiday.

I arrive at my favorite coffee shop for my morning cup and notice that the bike sure
seems to be leaning a bit more than normal on the side stand. Thinking not much of it, I
depart for work. I am a helicopter pilot for a local hospital. My daily routine requires
me to stop at the helipad and preflight prior to going on into the office several blocks
away. While at the helipad, I park on the sidewalk on an incline temporarily since
parking is at a premium here.

After my preflight, I get back on the LT and raise the side stand.....the side stand falls
off! Only hanging from the switch wiring.

There I sit...I can not get off the bike without dropping it.....I am on the side of a
hill blocking the exit to the parking lot. Since the switch moved...the engine will not start.

I waved down an employee that was leaving work and had her call security for me.
Security arrived with 5 guys that held the bike up so that I could get off and reposition it on a barely acceptable spot to put it on the center stand.

Anyone that has removed the center stand knows that the retaining bolt is a special bolt
with 2 different sizes of thread....one to retain the stand and the other that holds the
switch in place. The retaining bolt had broken in the threads of the large section.

My problem now is finding a bolt on Friday...Christmas Eve....250 miles from my dealer

This is where I get to tell you all the good things.

One of the medics on the helicopter owns a 99 LT that has been down for a while for a
rear brake issue. He lives 40 miles from here.