BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello LT pilots. Since it's time to do a considerable amount of work on the LT (shocks, fork seals, brakes, plugs, etc) I am thinking that a lift or lift table might be a great investment. Does anyone have an opinion on which is better? Lift vs. lift table? Also, if you have one, which make and model do you have?

·
Registered
511 Posts
You will need a lift table for the LT since it's design does not allow it to be lifted from underneath. The budget conscious have chosen the Harbour Freight model which seems to work well although I have no experience with it. Do a search and I'm sure you will find a ton of information on this topic.

Mugz

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Mugz, We have a Harbor Freight locally. Already called them. They have 3 table lifts in stock....only $320. I'm going to go look at one today or tomorrow. Don't know why I didn't think of them to begin with. Thanks.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Jim_B said:
Hey Mugz, We have a Harbor Freight locally. Already called them. They have 3 table lifts in stock....only $320. I'm going to go look at one today or tomorrow. Don't know why I didn't think of them to begin with. Thanks.
Jim,

Have the Harbor lift, use it with all my bikes including the LT. One thing about loading the LT on the lift, you will need to build some side boards to allow you to walk it up.

AND I would suggest getting a friend or neighbor to tie it down while you sit on it and provide stability. Just be VERY careful, but the HF lift will handle it. :)

OH, and check your past Rider Mags. there was a coupon in there for the lift at $299, might save a little $$.

·
Premium Member
4,886 Posts
Jim_B said:
Where are you located, your profile does not say.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6