BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any use or thoughts, anecdotes about the Michelin Pilot Road 4 tires?

·
Registered
704 Posts
Not for the LT, it's too heavy.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im a noob to tires for heavy bikes, what exactly is the sidewall rating of 79 and how would it affect the ride if say, you went tiwht a 70 or even less? I ask for the education. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
7,646 Posts
Im a noob to tires for heavy bikes, what exactly is the sidewall rating of 79 and how would it affect the ride if say, you went tiwht a 70 or even less? I ask for the education. Thanks.
There are many web sites that show the mapping of load rating to weight.

Ride probably isn't much affected until the tire overheats and blows out which makes the ride more squirrelly. :smile:

The bigger ride issue on the LT is probably related to the REINF sidewall requirement. I don't know, but I suspect standard 79 tires didn't have stiff enough sidewalls even though they had the raw weight capacity. Tire ratings aren't independent. They interact in complex ways. Going outside the manufacturers specifications can be exciting given the right confluence of events.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
14,341 Posts
The front will work OK just don't try the rear. I use the Bridgestone B020 for the rear and I will try a PR4 GT on the front next time as I run them both on my K1300GT and love them. But the GT is 350 lbs less than the LT.

Reactions: 58caddy

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ive researched this subject and it seems as popular and as whacky as a "whats the best Oil" thread. I guess everyone has their preferences, but I dont want to skimp on safety at all.