BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at purchasing a SWIVELWHEEL-78 SYSTEM trailer from FAST MASTER PRODUCTS, INC to haul my LT on behind my travel trailer. It is a one wheel trailer and I am wondering if anyone here has experience with this company or style of trailer. My concern is the weight of the LT on one wheel/tire. They also make a two swivel wheel model which may be necessary to carry the weight. I chose this style of trailer as it is the only type that can go behind a conventional travel trailer.

·
Registered
191 Posts
I have no experience with it, but it looks scary...

Harbor freight trailer might be better at a fraction of the cost.

·
Registered
6,424 Posts
I don't see any infomation on their web site that says what weight that thing would carry. I don't think it is something I'd want to try.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,909 Posts
My first impression is why? Why not a standard utility trailer? Guess I don't get it. But given that it is load rated for 1,000 lbs it should work just fine. It would just bother me to have a swinging platform behind a rather long vehicle as apposed to an articulated tow trailer. I guess your major issue would be in backing the system as that would be harder with a conventional trailer. This would be easy to back up with.

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
(My post from the other thread)

I'm assuming you're talking about this trailer (see pic below). What bothers me about that design is that you're putting ALL of your faith into ONE tire, ONE wheel, and ONE wheel bearing. Yikes! Don't mean to scare you, but I think it's something to consider, heavily.

Maybe if I could ride a unicycle, I wouldn't be so concerned. ;)

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
It's rated for 1,000#, usually you want a trailer to be rated to close to double to allow for bumps & dips in the road. Looks cool though!

·
Registered
290 Posts