BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being an engineer, I have to analyze how well things are made and one item is oil filters. I have cut open several in the past and can be seen at Bobistheoilguy http://theoildrop.server101.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=6;t=000723#000000 and http://theoildrop.server101.com/cgi/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=6;t=000890.

Since I have a new LT on order I got a LT filter from the dealer ($22 Can - wow. these are not inexpensive!!) and dissected it today. Hopefully I can attach some photos in the following posts.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The end cap has 6 inlet holes at 0.250" diameter for a total flow area of 0.29 sq in.

The can thickness is 0.017", which is relatively thick compared to most filers.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nitrile rubber sealing ring crimped in cover. Not as well secured as some filters.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Top view of filter cartridge in can

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Spring in bottom of filter that compresses filter cartridge against the cover.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Cartridge has metal-to-metal seal against the cover. Normally a rubber anti drainback valve is installed here and the cartridge would seal against the rubber, however this filter does not have one.
The metal-to-metal seal is thus not as effective and may allow some minor bypass flow if the alignment is not perfect.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Filter cartridge is 2.2” long and 2.8” in overall diameter.

There are a total of 71 pleats, which is a large number and thus a large filter area for a filter of this size.

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Rubber bypass valve in bottom of cartridge

Attachments

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter #9