BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have always used the match-rev technic while downshifting on all my motorcycles, that is to say pulling the clutch, downshifting and then reving the engine sligthly before letting the clutch back. I have been doing that on my LT for several years without any issue but recently the LT started backfiring sometime after I let the clutch back. The bike works great with no hesitation otherwise so I am wondering what could be the cause of this back firing.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I have an 06 LT trike, that has developed a backfire after a total rebuild of the clutch and replacement of the brake assist module. Bike was apart down to the frame. Engine ran fine before the rebuild started
Bike backfires at idle but not at speed or when down shifting. When riding at about 4000rpm there is a loud howling that disappears when you increase or decrease rpms.
I suspected the exhaust sealing rings may have been pinched so I dropped the exhaust and put in 4 new rings. Still backfires.
Have taken out the fuel pump and all looks good although I have not taken a pressure reading.
I will be looking for a separated vacuum line today.
The bike ran fine before so I don't expect a valve issue. But the constant tearing apart the bike is driving me crazy.
Any Ideas of where to check?

·
Premium Member
7,612 Posts
I have always used the match-rev technic while downshifting on all my motorcycles, that is to say pulling the clutch, downshifting and then reving the engine sligthly before letting the clutch back. I have been doing that on my LT for several years without any issue but recently the LT started backfiring sometime after I let the clutch back. The bike works great with no hesitation otherwise so I am wondering what could be the cause of this back firing.