BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a Goldwing rider who is in the process of upgrading. I never thought much about a BMW, was planning on going to a new 1800 wing. I found a 2003 K1200 LTC loaded with 6000 miles for $14000. Has me thinking.... How concerned about driveshaft should I be? Any other problems with that year? Anyone out there with experience with both bikes? Thanks for any input. Kirk

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
Buy

Hey Capt;

I have a 2002 and absolutley love it. I have been riding for 35 years and its at the top of the list. I would not worry too much about the shaft, change the fluid very 6000 and check the magnetic plug for excessive metal. Mine has 36000 and no trouble. You will probably get a lot of posts on this subject.
If you plan on doing cross country rides on I80 then buy anything you like. But if you will be doing canyon riding and dragging your knees stuff then buy the LT. You wont be dissapointed. Thats why most people like it, you can ride all day straight or go thru Co. dragging pegs. And the thing is,at least with me,is you always want to get back on even after a 700 mile day.
Good Luck
Zeke

·
Registered
938 Posts
BMW changed the bearings used in the '03 and the drive shaft has not been an issue.

One big difference to point out, and this is very important. The antilock servo braking system is far superior on the BMW then any other bike. Also, the suspension is designed so that it will not dive during hard braking...

I have an '03 LTC. I really love it !!!!!!!

I would try to negotiate the price though, seems a smiggon high..

Thanks and good luck..

·
Premium Member
7,565 Posts
Accroding to BMW they haven't had any reported rear drive failures on 2003 and new models. That sounds like a reasonable price for a low mileage loaded LTC; I would go for it.

·
Registered
1,740 Posts
2003 Lte