BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fellow riders! :wave
I have been riding my 2000 K1200LT since 2004 and thoroughly enjoy it. I perform all my own maintenance so I'm pretty competent on the bike's ins and outs, but I've got a problem that is baffling me. :confused: And it doesn't help that the dealer is closed on Sunday/Monday.
5 days ago I completed a nice ride and pulled into the garage with no issues, so I know the bike was running good. Yesterday I disconnected the battery to do some minor work on the bike, only to discover I didn't have all the parts I needed. I reconnected the battery and went to start it, and the bike immediately revved up to 6000rpm and won't come down. If I open the throttle it will redline (I only did this once).

I've performed what I think is the TPS reset (turn on the ignition, fully open/close the throttle 3 times) but this did not do the trick. I disconnected/reconnected the battery again and performed another TPS, same issue.

I've replaced batteries several times and have never seen this issue. Nothing was done to the bike from the time I shut it down 5 days ago to yesterday which is why I'm so baffled.

Have any of you seen this before? Any ideas?
I'll be pulling the skins off tonight looking for the obvious.

·
Wrencher Extraordinaire
2005 K1200LT
13,903 Posts
Unless a cable has broken and is jamming the throttle, or something has gotten in there to jam the rail on the throttle bodies, I suspect your TPS (or throttle actuator) has crapped out.

·
Premium Member
3,108 Posts
You should be able to hear the TBs bottom out as they close without the engine started. Do you have the upgraded cables? How deep were you into the engine? John may be correct, but I doubt that a bad TPS would take you to redline (but I've been wrong before). Any chance you pinched a cable or something similar? More info please.

·
Registered
438 Posts