BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering purchasing either a 1995 K1100 Lt or a 1990 K75RT. Any pro/cons or other thoughts regarding this purchase. I am new to the BMW line so any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
The K11LT had two characteristics that some riders disliked: (1) in hot weather it dumped lots of heat in your lap, and (2) buzzy vibration, the result of a hard-mounted 4 cylinder engine with no internal counterbalancers. The K75RT has less power, but as a 3 cylinder engine with a single counterbalancing shaft (all you need for a 3 cylinder engine), is the smoothest engine BMW ever built.

Both of these K11LT characteristics were addressed (and cured) on the first K12LT: engine heat was successfully ducted away from the rider, and the engine was vibration-isolated from the frame. Since the engine was no longer a stressed member of the frame it should have been redesigned to reduce weight, but BMW doesn't have deep pockets the way the Japanese companies do.
I have a good friend who put 198,000 miles on his K75 - valves were checked on schedule but never needed adjusting.

- Bob

·
Registered
4,239 Posts
One up go for the K75. I had a 87 K100 and my brother-inlaw had a 87 K75. My K100 was too hot if the temp was over 80 degrees. Don't know if they resolved the heat issue in 95 or not. His K75 was very smooth, mine had vibration or buzz at certain rmps, but was silky smooth at 80MPH and 5000 RPM. The K75 is a classic, some consider it better than the K100 or K1100s. So do you need the extra power?

·
Registered
2,016 Posts