BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the last three-four times I've riden my 2005 LT it feels like the clutch is slipping in 4th/5th gear. Bacially I give it gas , the engine revs go up and the bike doesn't jump forward as in 1-2-3. I've read the post about the clutches and I guess I'm hoping someone will tell the newbie "oh don't worry, just turn the X screw and it will be fine". I'm a reasonabe mechanic as I have built my own Vtwin chopper but tearing apart a BMW doesn't really allow me much room to customize if you know what I mean. So can someone give me a little advice here as I'm in Florida and my wife and I ride constantly. The bike has 22,000 miles and runs like a dream.

·
Old Slow Guy in A Fast Car
8,601 Posts
Well it sounds like the early signs of a "WET Clutch" which means a full tear down to replace the clutch with a "DRY' one plus a new slave cylinder. If you take it to the Dealer be prepared to drop $2500.00 or more.
Sorry for the bad news.

·
Premium Member
7,800 Posts
If it helps to lessen to lessen the pain, I had that job done (including new slave cylinder) by a BMW dealer for $1100 2 1/2 years ago.

·
Registered
2,571 Posts
You have a contaminated clutch. It is probably the slave cylinder, or could be the Rear Main Seal on the engine. Any signs of oil leakage?

If no signs of oil, then probably the clutch slave.

My rear main seal went; did everything myself, and since I had the bike apart went ahead and replaced the slave cylinder too.

·
Registered
929 Posts
I believe the above gentlemen are telling you the truth.

·
Registered
4,241 Posts
Happened to me too. Slipping clutch. Nothing to worry about its just money... right? Well it was an ouch for me 1 year ago February. Had slave and clutch and engine seals overhauled $1600. That included a couple other things too.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
I suppose if you are going to shoot a messenger...........I'll volunteer.................