BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,852 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being an audio buff all my life I always wanted to build my own speakers, and in particular horn speakers. At first I procrastinated a looong time, then I forgot what I wanted for an even longer time, then I thought I couldn't do it, and finally a few months ago I started the project again.

After a while I settled on a pair of Sachiko horn speakers, started to buy material, order the drivers, read up on everything and I converted two rooms in our house to "workshop".

This is my first project of this magnitude and for that they didn't turn out too bad. everything that I don't like is in how the cabinets look like, and not how they sound. when I finally got them finished and set up yesterday I am very impressed in how they sound, how much we didn't hear with our old speakers (on the mantle next to the Sachiko)

The Sachiko's stand 72" tall, weigh approx 70 lbs each, are build from birch ply (not the REALLY good baltic birch, they didn't have that when I went shopping). I use a Fostex FE207e (8" full range) as the driver and installed phase cones in the speakers.

Sorry for the bad quality of the pics, just some cell phone pics taken as I ran out this morning.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,525 Posts
Interesting..

But, Wouldn't you really rather be rocking a pair of these ?

I also used to have some Carlson type enclosures with a JBL horn and 15 in them.. They were as nice as my L200's were..But these L65's have the "sweet JBL sound" baby..

Harmon Kardon Citation Eleven preamp.
Harmon Kardon Citation Fifteen tuner
Nikko Alpha power amp..
JBL L65's
Dual 1219 etc,,,

John

·
Premium Member
5,852 Posts
Discussion Starter #3