BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a long time airhead rider, and have rebuilt a few along the way. I have ZERO experience with the LT's. I have acquired a 1999 LT that seems fairly intact, but had the bodywork mostly removed and was told that the bike had issues with the starter--or starting, and the previous owner had let it sit disassembled for awhile. I have no idea what the real situation of the bike is.

I have figured out how to open the disabled saddlebags to get to the battery, but I'm concerned about this "immobilizing" system. I don't know if the problem with the bike is that it was previously immobilized? And I for sure don't want to immobilize it myself.

I'm hoping that someone here can advise me on the next steps I should take to make sure that I don't make the situation worse.

It seems like a pretty solid bike, and I would love to bring it back to service.

Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
4,356 Posts
Howdy Pilgrim. :wink: Welcome to the best place on the planet to help you with your acquisition.

First thing you are going to need is a Clymer manual for reference. Getting to the starter is no small task if that indeed is what the issue is. It could be the starter relay or the immobilizer. That can be disabled with a few jumpers. For the 1999, that would be pins 10 to 6 and 11 to 3 on the alarm controller plug by my notes from John Zeiler. The newer alarm systems require an additional jumper.