BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Or do I have a different problem looming.

What I have noticed and wanted to talk about for a while is the way it slams into certain gears.

I've been riding since about 12 years old and know how to shift very smoothly. What I have noticed is especially in 4th gear , it hits very hard in upshifts ... almost as if it had no syncros or I was just shifting without clutch.

Even my Custom Chopper doesn't hit as hard in any gear except when rev'd while shifting from neutral - first where it will slam into gear with clutch pulled .

Other gears are not nearly as hard hitting. Some seem very normal where you don't feel the shift.

Is this common or do I have another potential problem ?

·
Premium Member
812 Posts
smooth as butter to shift

Petre said:
Or do I have a different problem looming.

What I have noticed and wanted to talk about for a while is the way it slams into certain gears.

I've been riding since about 12 years old and know how to shift very smoothly. What I have noticed is especially in 4th gear , it hits very hard in upshifts ... almost as if it had no syncros or I was just shifting without clutch.

Even my Custom Chopper doesn't hit as hard in any gear except when rev'd while shifting from neutral - first where it will slam into gear with clutch pulled .

Other gears are not nearly as hard hitting. Some seem very normal where you don't feel the shift.

Is this common or do I have another potential problem ?
I've been 8000 miles since last may(I'm a new BMW rider) and the shift is really smooth. Better than my HD Road Glide was. I do notice I have a little trouble matching RPM's to MPH when I let the clutch out. I'm getting better though.

Hope you don't have a tranny problem coming.

Ride safe! :)

·
Registered
178 Posts