BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
l’ve Been considering an inflatable vest and done some research....just wanted to reach out for opinions...pros vs cons...any appreciated...
many thanks
John

·
Registered
66 Posts
John,

I have been using them since 2011 and I use the "Helite" air vest, (https://heliteuk.co.uk/) following an on duty crash, which has left me with spinal injuries since 2001. The company has many products now, including an electronic version, personally I prefer the physical lanyard type, ( electronics can fail), I have secured the one part around the "high/low" bracket for the front seat height adjustment and is totally secure, as I have cable-tied the metal bracket in place. Every time I get on the bike, I "attach" the "male" attachment into the female (on the bike). I had this on my "job" bike as well as my personal RT.

It takes a hard pull to activate and I have no question, should I take an unintended "off" from the bike it will deploy. I have known people get off their bikes and try and walk away, the tether stops them and the jacket has not deployed. I also carry an extra CO2 (spare) canister beneath my seat, just in case, I have a slow "off" or for some other reason, I can inspect the jacket and providing it is not damaged, I can replace the canister and be on my way again.

I hope this helps.....?

Rossy

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Perfect...I looked at that product....I too am basic old school and will go with lanyard as well. Ridden years without, but saw a friend with his and got me thinking....really have no reason not to get one...thanks for quick response 😀

·
Registered
66 Posts
Perfect...I looked at that product....I too am basic old school and will go with lanyard as well. Ridden years without, but saw a friend with his and got me thinking....really have no reason not to get one...thanks for quick response 😀