BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last night I got home from picking up my new-to-me 2007 R1200R. When I picked it up it had 247 miles on the clock. It only took me two days and 816 miles to make the 437 mile trip back to my house. I have been riding a 2000 K1200LT for several years and a 1978 R100S many years before that. It felt like riding a scooter for the first mile and a half. It was an amazing ride. I took it to a dealer 120 miles from where I picked it up and had the 600 mile service and brake line recall performed.

On the way home I rode in mountain twisties, on some amazing two lane desert roads in the middle of the Mojave, in 60 degrees and in 31 degrees. What a great bike! I was worried at first. Not about failing FD, failed EWS rings, or bad seats. I was worried because I didn't have THE smile after the first day. Once I hit the desolate desert roads and twisties on the second day I found myself smiling so much it hurt. I put 461 miles on the bike the second day and my butt didn't even hurt.

The gentleman I purchased the bike from could not have been nicer and easier to deal with. As I was pulling out of his heated garage he put his hand on my shoulder and told me to enjoy the bike like he wished he could have. I fully intend to do just that.

·
Registered
1999 LTC
14,456 Posts
Congrats on the new-to-you Christmas present, Sean! Gonna keep both scoots in inventory, are ya??

Every time you guys post up about the enjoyment of owning an RT of some circa, I wonder how it would have been back in '99 when me and ole Toad got paired up, if instead, I'da taken the dealership owner's advice and had let him deliver one to my casa? Guess I'll never know - butt a second bike might be sumpthin' Santa oughta think about some Xmas, when he runs outta ideas!! :histerica